WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 07, 2022,12:00 P.M.
1. Call to Order

Co-chair Washington called the meeting to order at 12:06 PM.
2. Roll Call
NOTE: One or more Commission Members may be in attendance telephonically or by other technological means.
Diana Cudeii, Ex-Officio; Present
Meg Kabotie Adakai, E-Officio; Absent
Vacant Seat, Ex-Officio
Cora M. Phillips, Co-Chair; Present
Joe. W. Washington, Co-Chair; Present
Darrell Marks; Present, joined at 12:17 PM
Fawn Toya; Present
Kiara Weathersby; Present
Shawna Whitehat; Present
Jonathan Yellowhair; Present

Others present: Staff Liasion Rose Toehe; Council Liasion Councilmember Adam Shimoni; Dee Wegwert, CODA; Jean Toner, CODA; Mashayla Tso, Presenter; and Makaius Marks, Presenter.
Land Acknowledgment

The Flagstaff City Council humbly acknowledges the ancestral homelands of this area’s Indigenous nations and original stewards. These lands, still inhabited by Native descendants, border mountains sacred to Indigenous peoples. We honor them, their legacies, their traditions, and their continued contributions. We celebrate their past, present, and future generations who will forever know this place as home.
3. Public Comment

At this time, any member of the public may address the Commission on any subject within their jurisdiction that is not scheduled before the Commission on that day. Due to Open Meeting Laws, the Commission cannot discuss or act on items presented during this portion of the agenda. To address the Commission on an item that is on the agenda, please wait for the Chair to call for Public Comment at the time the item is heard. (Five minutes maximum per speaker)

November 2, 2022 Minutes will be available to approve next regular meeting.
A. Restoration of the Original Name for Agassiz Peak
A presentation will be made by Makaius Marks and MaShayla Tso representing a community wide youth group. They will present their work and plans on restoring Agassiz Peak to an original Indigenous name. They are looking for support from the Commission to further their work.

MaShayla Tso made introductions and started the PPT presentation. Ms. Tso provided information on the history behind the name of Agassiz Peak and the person it was named after. This person had racist beliefs and those were not compatible with Indigenous communities' name for the mountain. Agassiz believed that relations between blacks and whites were immoral and destructive to the social equality, so these values do not match up with what Indigenous communities have for their names of the peaks. These names are very sacred and ceremonial, and have ceremonial purposes. She also reported on the interviews that she and her group have completed with Indigenous elders and individuals. Due to the fact that the peaks are associated with 13 Indigenous Nations, the peaks are associated with spiritual deities, ancestors, emergence ceremonies, climate conduit, and are still integral to Indigenous daily practices today. Interviews and feedback from youth and supporters also include support from all over the country, from people who have or are doing similar work or who have read up on on this issue inside and outside the Flagstaff community. They have also received support from other Indigenous Nations. Makaius Marks joined the presentation.

The presenters give credit to the youth advocates that have started this, especially the high school students. It is important to point out that if science was used to try to legitimize racist beliefs of white supremacy, racial superiority, therefore, naming a peak after Agassiz is inappropriate and antagonizes the beliefs and acknowledgments of the Indigenous Nations and other communities of color. Keeping the name Agassiz Peak deeply affects Indigenous peoples because the cultural names for the peaks describe the spiritual healing and power that the mountain holds. Agassiz' name also creates a culture of racism and colonization that should be deemed as unacceptable. It fosters a culture of disrespect and dehumanization.

After some discussion the Indigenous Commission made a motion to support the work of the Indigenous youth advocates. Commissioner Marks also added that a Letter of Support would be helpful as documentation is being gathered to submit to the Federal Registry and Department of the Interior. In addition other recommendations were made on organizations or offices to seek support from, including non-Indigenous groups.

Commissioner Marks made a motion that the Indigenous Commission for the City of Flagstaff supports the renaming of Agassiz Peak. Commissioner Toya seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.
B. Consideration of Co-chair Terms to be One-Year or Two-Year Term
Commissioners to discuss and vote on Co-Chair office term. Currently, it is a one-year term. Co-chairs can be nominated and elected to remain in their seats for an additional year based on unanimous vote from the Commissioners. The following is the an excerpt from the Board and Commission Members' Rules and Operations Manual: Who Runs the Meeting? The chair is the presiding officer in all commission proceedings. During the absence of the chair, the vice-chair acts as chair. If neither the chair nor vice-chair can attend the meeting there is no formal order of who would take over and the members in attendance can choose a presiding officer for the meeting. Chairs and vice-chairs normally serve for a predetermined period of time (for example, one or two years). Commissions elect their own chair and vice-chair by having a member make a motion to select another member as chair. If seconded by another member, the nomination is voted on by the commission. This process can be repeated for the vice-chair position. When it comes time to elect the leadership, the nomination process must be an agenda item.

After discussion, it was decided that terms will be staggered to allow for shadowing of newer co-chair.

Commissioner Toya made a motion to make one co-chair seat to be two years and the other co-chair to be one year which will allow for some shadowing. Commissioner Marks seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.
C. Nominations and Elections of Indigenous Commission Co-Chairs
The Commissioners will discuss, provide nominations, and vote on the next Co-chairs to start their term in January 2023.

As this topic needs more time, the Commissioners decided to table this agenda item until January 2023 Regular Meeting.

Co-Chair Phillips made a motion to table the nominations and election of Indigenous Commission Co-chairs to next month. Co-Chair Washington seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.
None scheduled.

The remaining Commissioners and Rose Toehe provided some acknowledgment and appreciation to Councilmember Adam Shimoni for being an advocate for the Indigenous Commission, Indigenous communities and community members as the Council Liaison and Councilmember. The Commissioners were invited to the next City Council meeting for a scheduled farewell event for the outgoing Councilmembers.

Rose Toehe announced that City Council voted to approve the Thorpe Park Annex Parcel final concept with a couple of changes. The concept was approved to move forward and the Indigenous Community Cultural Center is part of that package. It was approved 7 to 0.

Co-chair Washington adjourned the meeting at 1:32 PM.


Level double AA conformance,
                W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

AgendaQuick ©2005 - 2023 Destiny Software Inc. All Rights Reserved.